By Nolan King | July 12, 2021 2:15 pm ET
UFC 265 combatants and their teams recently received a memo from the promotion, warning them about the marijuana rules in the state of Texas.
The event, which takes place Aug. 7, is scheduled for Toyota Center in Houston. While the UFC’s anti-doping partner, the U.S. Anti-Doping Agency (USADA), no longer punishes fighters for detected marijuana use, the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) still holds a strict policy.
MMA Junkie acquired a copy of the memo from a person with knowledge of the situation, who asked to remain anonymous.
In the memo, UFC vice president of athlete health and performance Donna Marcolini outlined the differences between USADA and the TDLR policies and provided fighters with recommendations on how to handle marijuana use ahead of UFC 265.
“Although we have recently changed the marijuana rules for the UFC/USADA anti-doping program, allowing marijuana use as long as fighters don’t show up for a fight impaired, the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations (TDLR) has a strict 50 ng/ml THC threshold, where any THC level over 50ng/ml is a violation,” Marcolini wrote. “THC is the psychoactive ingredient in marijuana that effects impairment. This is a significantly low threshold and all UFC athletes should take precautions to adhere to Texas’ different rule.”
According to Marcolini, athletes who test over the THC threshold will receive a 90-day suspension and $500 fine. If the athlete wins her or his fight, the win also will be overturned to a no contest. As a result of the low threshold and potential penalties, Marcolini recommended fighters halt marijuana and CBD use earlier than they normally would.
“Due to Texas’s LOW THRESHOLD